Loading ...

WWV is celebrating it’s 100th anniversary and they need your help

Hello from Northern Colorado!

I hope you had a chance to venture out last weekend and enjoy Field Day 2019, even with the wet and cold conditions.  Now we’re approaching the 4th of July, and it feels like the summer is whizzing by.

As you probably know, WWV will celebrate it’s 100th anniversary this fall, on October 1, 2019.  The National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST) will have a recognition event and an open house that day. NCARC and WWV ARC will host a special event amateur radio station, WW0WWV, from September 28 through October 2, 2019.  For the last 6 months, the WWV Centennial Committee has been busy here in Fort Collins, watching the months ticking away, now down to only 12 weeks before the 100th  anniversary of WWV and the WW0WWV special event amateur station.

We are contacting you and your club today to ask for help with several aspects of the WWV special event station, WW0WWV.

The special event station is in need of more operators!  The SES will operate from Friday evening, September 27, through Wednesday evening, October 2, 2019, continuous.  We are looking for individual operators for CW, SSB, and data modes, to work 2-hour shifts and an opportunity to work multiple shifts, if desired.  Help keep WW0WWV on the air for the 5 days by volunteering to operate!

Please consider a donation!  Running an event of this magnitude takes resources.  If you can’t personally join us this fall and would like to help the WW0WWV special event station, we are accepting donations via our website, http://wwv100.com/index.php/donate-to-wwv100.  Any financial support you can offer will certainly help!

Please share this information with members of your club, or anyone you think may be interested in the special event amateur radio station.

If you have any questions or would like to discuss the WWV event, please contact the project at WWV@ncarc.net.  We hope to see you this fall in Fort Collins.


Dave Swartz, W0DAS

WWV Centennial Committee